July 13 - Moody Blue

The CMT / STAR import cooperation 'Spliced Takes - Nashville Revisited' has been released in the 'Spliced Takes' series. 

Tracks: Devil in Disguise - Alternate Master - Please Don't Drag That String Around - Spliced take 3,4,5,5  - Gold in the Mountains - Spliced overdubbed master - Like A Baby - Alternate Master - Soldier Boy - Spliced take 2,7 - Thrill of Your Love - Spliced take fs,2,1,3,1 - I Got Stung - Spliced take 18,20 - She's Not You - Spliced take 3/WP 5 (overdub) - Put the Blame on Me - Spliced take fs,fs,fs,2  - Dirty, Dirty Feeling - Alternate Master - Kiss Me Quick - Spliced take 5,6 - Western Union - Spliced take 2,3,1,2 - His Latest Flame - Spliced take 10,12 - By and By - Spliced take 1,3,4 - Joshua Fit the Battle - Spliced take 3,2 - I Believe in the Man in the Sky - Spliced take 3,4,1 - Big Boss Man - Spliced take 5,9 - It Ain't No Big Thing - Spliced take 1,2,6 - Just Pretend - Spliced take 1,2 - Stranger in the Crowd - Spliced Rehearsal - Cindy Cindy 1,2,1,1 - Heart of Rome - Spliced take 3/ workpart 1 - I'll Never Know - Alternate "Overdubbed" Master - It Hurts Me - Spliced take 3,4,5 - I John - Spliced take 1,1,2 - Padre - Spliced take 8,11 (undubbed) - Amazing Grace - Spliced take 1,2 - In The Garden - Spliced Take 2,3 - Early Morning Rain - Alternate Master - Until It's Time For You To Go - Spliced take  7,8

Moody Blue Anniversary

Sony Music will release the original vinyl RCA album 'Moody Blue' as an 40th anniversary limited edition in clear blue 180 gram vinyl on September 1, 2017.

Moody Blue was Elvis’ final studio album released by RCA Records the month before his death in August 1977. The album was a mixture of live and studio work, and included the four tracks from his final studio recording sessions in October 1976 and two tracks left over from the previous Graceland session in February 1976. "Moody Blue" was a previously published hit song recorded at the earlier Graceland session and held over for this album. Also recorded at the February session was "It's Easy For You"" written by Tim Rice & Andrew Lloyd Webber. Two other track on the album were composed by John Rostill the English bassist and composer, recruited by the Shadows to replace Brian Locking "Way Down" became a hit after Elvis’ death less than one month after this album's publication. The album was certified Gold and Platinum on September 12, 1977 and 2x Platinum on March 27, 1992 by the RIAA.

Side A 1.Unchained Melody – Live (Alex North and Hy Zaret) 2:36; 2.If You Love Me - Live (Let Me Know) (John Rostill) 3:02; 3.Little Darlin' – Live (Maurice Williams) 1:55; 4.He'll Have to Go (Joe Allison, Audrey Allison) 4:35; 5.Let Me Be There (John Rostill) 3:38 
Side B 1.Way Down (Layng Martine, Jr.) 2:41; 2.Pledging My Love (Don Robey, Ferdinand Washington) 2:50; 3.Moody Blue (Mark James) 2:53; 4.She Thinks I Still Care (Dickey Lee Lipscomb) 3:54; 5.It's Easy for You (Andrew Lloyd Webber, Tim Rice) 3:30

Platinum Goes Gold

The 2012 compilation 'The Platinum Collection' from the Not Now Music label was certified 'Gold’ by the UK BPI on July 7, 2017. The set received a Silver Certification December 9, 2016.

The UK record label first released 'Elvis - The Platinum Collection' back in 2012 and it  has been available as a 3CD set and a 3LP collectors edition in white vinyl, both containing 75 classic recordings between 1954 and 1962. The album even had it's own vinyl 45rpm single featuring 'That's All Right & Blue Moon of Kentucky', and the album even made the UK music charts reaching #71 on the Pop album charts and #17 on the UK Indie album chart.

(Source: Elvis Telegraph / Elvis Express / FECC)