Monday, February 28, 2022

February 28 - G.I Blues - I'm Leavin'

The Elvis One record / Paradise Road Records labels announced five new titles: ‘G.I. Blues - Deluxe Movie Edition - Part I, II and III’ and ‘I'm Leavin' - Volume 1 And 2’

Publicity stated: Elvis One presents a Deluxe Movie Edition from G.I. Blues in three parts. Part 1 is an extended soundtrack including the original movie versions and the original music score for the movie! An unique album mix with all the great music - including many beautiful instrumental versions - recorded for the movie! Never before released on any album. Enjoy this fabulous musical art from 1960 all the way, you'll be surprised!

Part 2 is the Monophonic Sound Edition and contains all the original Mono Masters, Movie Recordings, a demo, plus commercials. Including for the first time the Undubbed Movie Masters from 'Big Boots', 'Shoppin' Around' and ‘Frankfurt Special'. Also 'Shoppin' Around' (finale) Take 14, ‘Whistling Blues’ and the Instrumental Versions of 'Shoppin' Around'.

Part 3 is the Stereophonic Sound Edition and contains all the original Stereo Masters, a nice collection of outtakes, the replaced album master of 'Didja Ever!' (including the complete Take 2 with count-in), and the complete music and chorus takes from 'Tonight Is So Right For Love' (‘Barcarolle’) and 'Tonight's All Right For Love' (‘Tales From The Vienna Woods’). A great addition to the already released 'G.I. Blues' editions. 


Each CD is limited to 500 copies and contains a 12-page booklet with photos and (recording) information. 


Two new releases from Paradise Road Records: ‘I'm Leavin' - Volume 1 and 2’ contains live audience recordings from August 9 - 16, 1971 - Elvis live at the International Hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada. 


These 2 albums contains many rarities and show highlights including 'That's All Right' with break, 'I Need Your Lovin'' (excerpt), a full version of 'Memphis Tennessee', 'Jailhouse Rock', Rip It Up (excerpt), 'Trying To Get To You', 'Help Me Make It Through The Night', 'I Can't Stop Loving You', great live versions from 'I'm Leavin' and 'The Impossible Dream', and many many others. 


Until now we have no soundboards from this season so these audience recordings are the only recordings we have. ‘I'm Leavin’ Volume 1 and 2’ represents the first week of this season, including recordings from opening night (for the first time on CD) but also from August 10 (Dinner and Midnight show), August 11 (Dinner show), August 12 (Midnight show), August 14 (Midnight show) and August 16 (Midnight show). All recordings have been remastered for this release.


The artwork of this Ultra Limited Edition is done in the style of the 1971 single 'I'm Leavin'’ and including an 8-page booklet! Go back to August 1971 and enjoy!


Tracks volume 1:

1. I Walk The Line (excerpt) / You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me

2. You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin’

3. Polk Salad Annie

4. Intro / That’s All Right (with break)

5. Proud Mary (with rare start)

6. You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me

7. Sweet Caroline

8. Polk Salad Annie

9. It’s Impossible (with funny start)

10. Hound Dog (with blues intro)

11. Memphis Tennessee

12. Tryin’ To Get To You

13. I’m Leavin’

14. Lawdy Miss Clawdy

15. The Impossible Dream

16. It’s Over (two false starts only)

17. Love Me

18. Heartbreak Hotel

19. (Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear / Don’t Be Cruel

20. Rip It Up (excerpt)

21. Hound Dog

22. Suspicious Minds

23. I’m Leavin’

24. Lawdy Miss Clawdy

25. I Can’t Stop Loving You

26. Can’t Help Falling In Love

27. Closing Vamp

28. Jailhouse Rock

29. Johnny B. Goode

30. Heartbreak Hotel

31. (Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear / Don’t Be Cruel (incomplete)

32. Hound Dog

Tracks 1-3 & 16-21:  August 14, 1971, MS.

Tracks 4-15: August 11, 1971, DS.

Tracks 22-27 & 30-31: August 9, 1971, OS.

Previously Unreleased

Tracks 28 & 29: August 10, 1971, MS.


Tracks volume 2:

1. I Need Your Lovin’ (excerpt)

2. Suspicious Minds

3. I’m Leavin’

4. It’s Over

5. Bridge Over Troubled Water

6. Bridge Over Troubled Water (reprise)

7. Can’t Help Falling In Love

8. Also Sprach Zarathustra

9. That’s All Right

10. Proud Mary

11. Jailhouse Rock

12. You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me

13. You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin’

14. Polk Salad Annie

15. It’s Over

16. Love Me

17. Blue Suede Shoes / Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On

18. Heartbreak Hotel

19. (Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear / Don’t Be Cruel

20. Love Me Tender

21. Musical Intermezzo / Having fun with the intro of ‘Hound Dog’

22. Hound Dog

23. Suspicious Minds

24. Introductions by Elvis

25. Introduction of Mike Stone

26. I’m Leavin’

27. Lawdy Miss Clawdy

28. Hound Dog

29. Help Me Make It Through The Night

30. Mystery Train / Tiger Man

Tracks 1-3 & 5-7:  August 14, 1971, MS.

Tracks 4, 18 & 28: August 12, 1971, MS.

Tracks 8-17 & 19-27: August 10, 1971, DS.

Tracks 29 & 30:  August 16, 1971, MS.

(Source: FECC)