Tuesday, March 01, 2022

March 01 - The King of Bricks

The French FNAC online store has the Music on Vinyl LP 'Elvis at STAX' listed for pre-order as a 2-LP set on 180 Gr. blue colored Audiophile vinyl. The album comes housed in a deluxe heavyweight sleeve with leather laminate finish. The release date is April 15, 2022.

Publicity stated: Riding high on the success of Aloha From Hawaii, Elvis did something remarkable. He decided that his next recording project would be on his home turf Memphis, Tennessee. The most desirable studio in town was the red-hot STAX - the launching pad of such greats as Otis Redding, Wilson Pickett, Sam & Dave and Isaac Hayes. 

In 1973, Elvis assembled the very best musicians in town - members of Booker T. and The MGs, The Memphis Boys and his own TCB band to create the ultimate band and he searched for fresh new material that would reflect his new path. Songs as 'I Got A Feelin’ In My Body' and 'Loving Arms' demonstrate an artist looking to broaden his palette and his reach.

 All of the Stax material has been collected on Elvis At Stax and tells the great story of Elvis’ new path. The album is available as a limited edition on solid blue coloured vinyl. 

Side A: 1. Promised Land 2. I’ve Got A Thing About You Baby 3. If You Talk In Your Sleep 4. Raised On Rock 5. Help Me 

Side B: 1. I Got A Feelin’ In My Body (Take 4) 2. For Ol’ Times Sake (Take 4) 3. Talk About The Good Times (Take 3) 4. Good Time Charlie’s Got The Blues (Take 8) 

Side C: 1. You Asked Me To (Take 3A) 2. Loving Arms (Take 2) 3. Your Love’s Been A Long Time Coming (Take 4) 4. Spanish Eyes (Take 2) 

Side D: 1. It’s Midnight (Take 7) 2. Find Out What’s Happening (Takes 8-7) 3. Three Corn Patches (Take 14) 4. My Boy (Take 1)

Colored Bricks

The Danish Lego toy company released 'Elvis Presley - The King' in their 'Lego Art series'. 

Publicity stated: This special artwork celebrates Elvis Presley and is designed for adults. It has 3,445 pieces and allows fans to build three portraits, one from every era of his career. Do you want the fresh-faced rocker, the movie star or "the King" in glory? Even better, combine three sets to create the ultimate Elvis portrait.


Black Star

A new import CD titled 'Blackstar' has been released. 

Publicity stated: 'Black Star' was originally released as an LP in 1986 and  has never been released on compact disc since. That is, until now!

The original composite master of 'Black Star' was included on this classic release. A song recorded for the film 'Flaming Star' in August 1960, but later rejected and re-recorded with a new title 'Flaming Star' in October 1960.

Back in 1986 this was the very first outing of this song and until now no official release features the original composite master of this great track.


16 additional tracks are included on this commemorative edition. Get this fantastic release now to complete your collection! This is a limited edition.


Original Album:

01 Black Star - Original Composite Master (from acetate)

02 You Don’t Know Me - Remake Take 1 (from acetate)

03 Slicin’ Sand  - Take 16 & 17

04 Message To His U.K. Fans .


Bonus Tracks:

05 Black Star - Take 5

06 You Don’t Know Me - Take 1,2

07 Flaming Star - Take 1

08 You Don’t Know Me - Take 12 & 13

09 Slicin’ Sand - Take 10

10 Flaming Star - Take 6 / 3 Channel Mix

11 Flaming Star - Take 5

12 Flaming Star - Take 6

13 Black Star - End Title Take 1, 2, 4 & 5

14 Flaming Star - End Title Take 3 & 4

15 You Don’t Know Me - Take 18

16 You Don’t Know Me - Film Version

17 Flaming Star - Take 6 Unedited Instrumental

18 You Don’t Know Me - Live August 14, 1970

19 Interview March 22, 1960 - Fountainebleau Hotel Miami Florida

20 Elvis Presence Check March 24, 1958

Note: everything on this release has previously been released. 

(Source: Lego / FNAC / Email / Music on Vinyl)