August 05 - If I Can Dream Press-release

Here is the press-release for the new Elvis Presley CD "If I Can Dream" that focuses on Presley's voice with new orchestration from the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra  and several guest performances.

The press-release:
A new CD scheduled for release in October will unite the music of Elvis Presley with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra on songs like "Burning Love" and "Love Me Tender."

The album, announced Tuesday, also features a duet with Michael Buble on "Fever" and appearances by the singers Il Volo and guitarist Duane Eddy. The orchestra adds its backing to original tracks recorded by Presley, who died in August 1977.

"This is right down the alley for Elvis," said Priscilla Presley, the late singer's former wife. "This is something he would have loved to do."

Presley said the disc, "If I Can Dream: Elvis Presley with The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra," was conceived during discussions she had with producer Don Reedman while she was in London acting in a play two years ago. She admitted initial skepticism, since her role with Elvis' estate requires her to sift through a lot of lousy ideas for use of his name or music.

But it grew on her, and when Elvis' former Las Vegas conductor approached her with a similar idea last year, she saw it as validation. The disc, recorded in London's famed Abbey Road studio, is set to come out Oct. 30.

While Elvis was obviously known best for rock 'n' roll, he had a large music collection that encompassed many different styles, she said. And he loved the sound of an orchestra.

"Knowing him, he wanted bigness, he wanted fullness, he wanted drama," she said. "His manager at the time, Col. Parker, said 'just have Elvis singing, that's all the people want.' But onstage, he surrounded himself with the music that influenced him — gospel singers, an orchestra, a rock band. People didn't get that."

She and Reedman obviously include some well-known Presley songs, like "In The Ghetto" and "It's Now or Never." But they also wanted some songs that may be overlooked in his catalog, like Neil Diamond's "And the Grass Won't Pay You No Mind" or a version of "Bridge Over Troubled Water."

The new disc will add to what is already one of the most active and successful entertainment estates, largely through the work of Priscilla and daughter Lisa Marie Presley. Forbes magazine, in its annual list of earnings by dead entertainers, said Presley's estate earned $55 million for the year ending October 2014. That's second to Michael Jackson.

In 2013, Presley's intellectual property rights were sold to Authentic Brands Group, signaling a new activism with the estate. Priscilla Presley also said she's pleased with the work of Sony Legacy, the label that has taken control of packaging Presley's music.

"Elvis was a risk-taker," she said. "If we kept everything status quo, how do we bring him into the future? How do we bring him current with this generation? How do we move on and continue the legacy? We're not going to let that happen."

UK Version

Listed on Amazon UK is a 4 CD set for “If I Can Dream” with October 30, 2015 as the release-date. It appears that Sony Music will also release a real single for the “If I Can Dream” project. Amazon UK lists a seven inch vinyl single coupling “If I Can Dream” with “Bridge over Troubled Water” with October 23, 2015 as the release-date.


The release will tie in with a new documentary on Elvis this Autumn called Elvis And Me, starring Joanna Lumley. The show will see the actress travel to Graceland and meet some of Elvis’ closest surviving friends and family in order to uncover "the man behind the myth". 

Direct From Graceland: Elvis at the O2

If I Can Dream is part of this year's ongoing 80th birthday celebration of Elvis, which also sees the release of The Complete '60s Albums Collection Vol. 1 and Vol. 2 on iTunes this week (August 7) and the launch of "Direct From Graceland: Elvis at the O2" on DVD.

Tracks US Version
Burning Love / It's Now or Never / Love Me Tender / Fever - Elvis Presley feat. Michael Bublé / Bridge Over Troubled Water / And the Grass Won't Pay No Mind / You've Lost That Loving Feeling / There's Always Me / Can't Help Falling In Love / In the Ghetto / How Great Thou Art / Steamroller Blues / An American Trilogy / If I Can Dream.

Tracks 5 CD box UK:

Disc: 1
1. Burning Love
2. It's Now or Never
3. Love Me Tender
4. Fever - Elvis Presley feat. Michael Bublé
5. Bridge Over Troubled Water
6. And the Grass Won't Pay No Mind
7. You've Lost That Loving Feeling
8. There's Always Me
9. Can't Help Falling In Love
10. In the Ghetto
11. How Great Thou Art
12. Steamroller Blues
13. An American Trilogy
14. If I Can Dream
15. Anything That's Part of You
16. What Now My Love
17. Heartbreak Hotel

Disc: 2
1. Burning Love
2. It's Now or Never
3. Love Me Tender
4. Fever - Elvis Presley feat. Michael Bublé
5. Bridge Over Troubled Water

Disc: 3
1. And the Grass Won't Pay No Mind
2. You've Lost That Loving Feeling
3. There's Always Me
4. Can't Help Falling In Love

Disc: 4
1. In the Ghetto
2. How Great Thou Art
3. Steamroller Blues
4. An American Trilogy

Disc: 5
1. If I Can Dream
2. Anything That's Part of You
3. What Now My Love
4. Heartbreak Hotel

(Source: David Bauder for Associated Press / FECC / Amazon UK)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Give your opinion.