Saturday, October 08, 2011

October 08 - Golden Christmas Boy

The new Route records import label announced the release of the original vinyl albums 'Elvis Golden Boy' (1965, Germany) and 'It Won't Seem Like Christmas Without You' (1982, UK) on CD. 

Details: Elvis Golden Boy 
Golden Boy is the ultimate album from Germany and was released in August 1965 by the major german TV guide HÖRZU and TELDEC, the record company who handled Elvis´ publishing rights in Germany. The album is highly sought after by collectors from all over the world, as it was taken off the market within a week, when The Colonel got aware of it. This produced a real monster collectible.

This album was also available with yellow backround as a swiss book club release back in 1965, wich is even much rarer than the original german HÖRZU release and is valued around 1.500 - 2.000$. A limited reprint of the swiss edition was recently available. The original HÖRZU album was official reprinted and available by RCA in 1981. This classic album with the beautiful cover was never released on CD.

But now, if only for nostalgic reasons, this great album is finally available on factory pressed silver CD. Housed in a stunning glossy 3 panel digipack, this release contains both the very rare original 1965 first pressing album artwork, and the cover of the limited edition yellow swiss edition.
Besides the original tracklist (all taken from the latest superb Vic Anesini masters) we added some hard to find bonus tracks to make this stunning release complete. Please notice...this is a limited edtion of only 500 copies!

1. She's Not You
2. Return To Sender
3. Joshua Fit The Battle
4. Don't
5. Tutti Fruitti
6. It's Now Or Never
7. Surrender
8. Do The Clam
9. Kiss Me Quick
10. Such A Night
11. Blueberry Hill
12. Don't Be Cruel
13. Heartbreak Hotel
14. Fun In Acapulco
15. Hound Dog
16. Muss I Denn (Wooden Heart)
Hard To Find Bonus Tracks:
17. Can't Help Falling in Love – take 24
18. Doncha Think Its Time – take 48
19. Jailhouse Rock – Spliced take ( unreleased )
20. Wild in the Country – take 13
21. I Believe in the Man in the Sky – take 1
22. So Close Yet So Far – take 3
23. I Beg of You – take 11 (mono)
24. Devil in Disguise – take 3
25. Viva Las Vegas – rehearsal

Details: It Won't Seem Like Christmas Without You

The vinyl album was released in 1982 in the UK . It featured some great gems, that are very hard to find these days. Some highlights are take 2 of "O Come, All Ye Faithful". Running more than a minute longer than the original version, it has Elvis singing the first verse one more time, to the accompaniment of an organ, lending the song an almost sacred character. And the ending is dynamic, with Elvis raising his voice one octave higher than on the original. Another highlight is the (then) unreleased master of the remake of "I'll Be Home On Christmas Day."

Also, there's the alternate version of "If Every Day Was Like Christmas," , the very hard to find duet versions of '' Winter Wonderland'' with Hanna Pakarinen and '' Blue Christmas'' with Martina McBride ( this is the famous '68 comeback show' version, never released on CD before and now available in stunning sound quality ).

And, ofcourse, theres many, many more... for the first time you have a single disc with all Elvis' christmas / gospel highlights. No endless takes, no endless chatter... put the disc in your cd player and you will have a marvelous christmas! Coming in a superb longbox digipack sleeve, this is the ultimate 2011 Elvis christmas gift.

1. It Wont Seem Like Christmas Without You
2. On A Snowy Christmas Night
3. If Everyday Was Like Christmas - alternate version
4. Where No One Stands Alone
5. Ill Be Home On Christmas Day - alternate master
6. If We Never Meet Again
7. The Wonderful World Of Christmas
8. He Touched Me
9. Merry Christmas Baby - complete studio performance
10. Reach Out To Jesus
11. If I Get Home On Christmas Day
12. His Hand In Mine
13. O Come All Ye Faithfull - take 2
14. Holly Leaves And Christmas Trees
15. Silent Night
16. We Call On Him - take 3
17. White Christmas (with count in)
18. Somebody Bigger Then You and I - take 12
19. Here Comes Santa Claus
20. Silver Bells - take 1
21. Santa Bring My Baby Back (Remix version)
22. O Little Town of Bethlehem - Duet with Karen Fairchild/Kimberly Schlapman
23. Winter Wonderland - Duet with Hanna Pakarinen
24. The Christmas Song/Oh Holy Night (one liners)
25. The First Noel - (2008 Remix)
26. Santa Claus is Back in Town (June 27, 1968 - 8 p.m.)
27. Blue Christmas - Unreleased -comeback version- Duet with Martina McBride
28. Christmas Message From Elvis/Ill Be Home for Christmas Duet with Carrie Underwood
29. Jingle Bells (instrumental) - informal recording, december 4, 1956

C&A Advertisement

Clothing chain C&A has a new news paper and magazine ad featuring Elvis. Earlier this year, C&A surprised the fans with a TV commercial (footage taken from the movie 'Spinout') that shows Elvis performing at a party with some lovely ladies. This time the "Love and Kiss" campaign is inspired by Elvis's 1957 movie "Jailhouse Rock".

(Source: EPG / ElvisMatters)