Tuesday, March 27, 2012

March 27 - Follow Me To April

The Follow That Dream Collector's label announced the releases fro the end of April 2012; a new CD, book and vinyl album.

Another Saturday Night
If one place is to be picked as the most important in the career of Elvis Presley, it is without doubt Shreveport in the northwest part of Louisiana. The exposure that Elvis got through the radio broadcast of The Louisiana Hayride in 1954-56 was one of the key factors of establishing the early part of his career. With the exception of Las Vegas, there is no place where Elvis played more shows, and his return to the city in 1975 was like a homecoming to both Elvis and the many fans he had there since he started out. We have chosen to release the soundboard from the evening show of June 7 – definitely a show that Elvis and the audience truly enjoy, and with a great set list featuring old and new favourites. The CD comes in a 5” digipack with an eight-page booklet featuring photos from the June 1975 tour.

Welcome Home Elvis 1961
Flaming Star, in collaboration with FTD, publishes a 260 pages book about the vital weeks in 1960 where Elvis regained control over his career. The format is the same as the well-known FTD book format (King Creole - The Music and A Moment In Time). The book includes: More than 300 photos, many of them previously unpublished, text by David English and a CD with the original mono master for “ELVIS IS BACK”. Pictures include Elvis coming home from the army, several press conferences, pictures at Graceland, coverage of the Sinatra TV show and much more.

Promised Land - The Companion Album
FTD vinyl is pleased to announce the release of “Promised Land – The Companion Album” - A Special Limited Edition 2-disc 180-gram vinyl set.
• Disc 1- alternative version of album featuring Stax outtakes
• Disc 2 – STAX more outtakes!
• Vinyl cutting by Abbey Road Studios
• DMM Copper Mastering
• 180 Grams heavyweight vinyl
• Strictly limited pressing

For June / July rumor has it that a five and seven inch CD, a vinyl set and a new book are in the works. Several sites mention "Elvis G.I. Blues Volume 1" as the seven inch release and a rehearsal as the five inch CD. 

Trackllisting Another Saturday Night

lso Sprach Zarathustra (06.10.1975 - Memphis, Tennessee) - See See Rider (06.10.1975 - Memphis, Tennessee) - I Got A Woman / Amen (06.10.1975 - Memphis, Tennessee) - Love Me - If You Love Me, Let Me Know - Love Me Tender - All Shook Up - Teddy Bear / Don't Be Cruel - Hound Dog - The Wonder Of You - Burning Love - Introductions / Johnny B. Goode - Introductions / School Day - T-R-O-U-B-L-E - Why Me Lord - How Great Thou Art - Let Me Be There - An American Trilogy - Funny How Time Slips Away - Little Darlin' - Mystery Train / Tiger Man - Can't Help Falling In Love
Bonus Songs:
I'll Remember You (02.06.1975 - Mobile, Alabama) - Hawaiian Wedding Song (03.06.1975 - Tuscaloosa, Alabama) - Bridge Over Troubled Water (03.06.1975 - Tuscaloosa, Alabama)

Tracklisting Promised Land

Side A
1. Promised Land – takes 3, 4 
2. There’s A Honky Tonk Angel (Who Will Take Me Back In) – take 4 + composite of takes 5, 3, 8 
3. Help Me – take 1 (f.s.+ remixed master)   
4. Mr. Songman – take 2 
5. Love Song Of The Year – take 1  
6. Promised Land 
Side B1. It’s Midnight – take 7 (3:45)
2. Your Love’s Been A Long Time Coming - take 10 (3:54)
3. If You Talk In Your Sleep – take 5 (2:28)
4. Thinking About You – take 4 (4:03)
5. You Asked Me To – take 3A (3:31)
6. There’s A Honky Tonk Angel (Who Will Take Me Back In) – take 1
Side C
1. Promised Land – take 5 (3:37)
2. Love Song Of The Year – takes 3, 4, 6
3. It’s Midnight – take 11 (3:23)
4. You Asked Me To – take 2B (3:54)
5. Thinking About You – take 3 (4:06)
Side D
1. If You Talk In Your Sleep - take 9 (undubbed master)
2. You Asked Me To – takes 1, 2A
3. There’s A Honky Tonk Angel (Who Will Take Me Back In) – takes 6, 7
4. Mr. Songman – takes 3, 5
5. Promised Land – take 6 (undubbed master) 

(Source: ElvisMatters)