Tuesday, September 15, 2015

September 15 - 30 #1 Gold Records On Vinyl

Sony Music has announced a re-release of the 2002 collection ELV1S - 30 #1 Hits on vinyl. This time with a slightly different cover. Due for release on October 10.

Th classic “50,000,000 Elvis Fans Can't Be Wrong (Elvis' Gold Records - Volume 2)” will be released in a limited edition gold vinyl pressing exclusively for the “Elvis At The 02 Arena” exhibition in London.  

50,000,000 Elvis Fans Can't Be Wrong (Elvis' Gold Records - Volume 2) was originally released back in 1959. In the two years that Elvis had by then spent in the army, the world of Rock'n'Roll had changed dramatically; Buddy Holly and Richie Valens had died in a plane crash, Little Richard had quit, Jerry Lee Lewis and Chuck Berry had fallen from grace and Jimi Hendrix bought his first electric guitar. 

This album was meant as a pacifier for Elvis' fans in the two year hiatus he would be unable to record any new songs. It worked; after Elvis' return he was more popular than ever, which proved that all his fans had, indeed, been right all along. 

This release also contains a number of songs Elvis recorded for his Christmas album and a number of in-demand movie songs, totalling ten extra songs on this 180 gram audiophile vinyl! 

Side A
1. Big Hunk O' Love
2. My Wish Came True 
3. (Now And Then There's) A Fool Such As I 
4. I Need Your Love Tonight 
5. Don't 
6. I Beg Of You 
7. Santa Bring My Baby Back (To Me) 
8. Santa Claus Is Back In Town 
9. (Let's Have A) Party 
10 Paralyzed

Side B
1. One Night 
2. I Got Stung 
3. King Creole 
4. Wear My Ring Around Your Neck 
5. Doncha' Think It's Time 
6. Mean Woman Blues 
7. Playing For Keeps 
8. Hard Headed Woman 
9. Got A Lot O' Livin' To Do! 
10. (There'll Be) Peace In The Valley (For Me)

(Source: FECC / Elvis At The 02 Arena)