Sunday, May 14, 2023

May 14 - Vinyl for Everybody

Due for release from the Not Now recordlabel are re-issues of Elvis' original albums 'Something for Everybody' (on pink colored vinyl) and the 'Girls! Girls! Girls!' Soundtrack (on blue colored vinyl).

Publicity stated: Set in Hawaii, Presley’s eleventh film Girls! Girls! Girls! featured the usual combination of exotic locations, plenty of songs and Elvis in fightin’ mood. Released in 1962, it features the notable Return To Sender, Earth Boy, Because of Love and the title track Girls! Girls! Girls! which was originally penned by Leiber & Stoller for The Coasters in 1961. Side One includes Where Do You Come From, which was not in the film but is included on the soundtrack album. In 1993, the U.S. Mail issued its Elvis Stamp and noticed that there was an increase in the number of letters it was obliged to return… zealous fans of the ‘King’ had marked the correspondence ‘Return to sender – address unknown’.

Tracks 'Girls! Girls! Girls!': Girls! Girls! Girls / I Don’t Wanna Be Tied / Where Do You Come From / I Don’t Want To / We’ll Be Together / A Boy Like Me, A Girl Like You / Earth Boy / Return To Sender / Because Of Love / Thanks To The Rolling Sea / Song Of The Shrimp / The Walls Have Ears / We’re Coming In Loaded.  

With the release of the Gospel album, His Hand In Mine during December 1960, Something For Everybody was the first non-religious Presley album to be released since Elvis Is Back! and the contrast couldn’t have been greater. None of the songs had ever been previously released in any form and were divided equally into ‘the ballad side’ and ‘the rhythm side’. With all of the tracks recorded at RCA Studios, Nashville, in March 1961, except for I Slipped, I Stumbled, I fell, which was recorded at 20th Century Fox Studios in Hollywood six months earlier in October 1960.

Tracks 'Elvis for Everyone': There’s Always Me / Give Me The Right / It’s A Sin / Sentimental Me / Starting Today / Gently /I’m Comin’ Home / In Your Arms / Put The Blame On Me / Judy / I Want You With Me / I Slipped, I Stumbled, I Fell. 

(Source: Pascal Matteo / Not Now Music)