Thursday, September 07, 2023

September 07 - Elvis Retro Christmas Memories From Japan

Dick Dekker and David ward announced that the book 'From Memphis to Tokyo - A Reference Guide to the Absolute Mastery of Elvis' Japanese Vinyl' will be available October 2023. 

Publicity stated: For 36 years, the only reference guide for collectors has been the 'Elvis Presley Complete Japanese Record Covers', published in 1987. Until now!

We are proud to present to you our updated and upgraded guide to Elvis Presley’s Japanese record releases. Over ca. 700 pages, we’ll show more than 2,700 full colour pictures of front and back covers, labels, inserts etc. Many entries are accompanied by extensive notes and tables to find all variants at a glance.
For the first time ever, you’ll now be able to find out when your record was pressed by looking at the information in the run-out portion of the record. This also allowed us to get more exact release dates of the records and their variants. It’s all extensively described in our “Guide to Dating Records”.
Also described are topics like:
-  differences in label design
-  colour differences on obis and covers
-  stamps on covers and labels
-  record prices
-  company sleeve designs
-  free gifts and special offers
-  Victor and RCA promo records
and many more
'From Memphis to Tokyo' is a hardcover, almost LP-size book, weighing in at no less than 4 kilos, that will answer almost everything you ever wanted to know about Elvis’ Japanese vinyl.

The book comes with a 45 RPM single of 'Your Cheatin' Heart/Memphis Tennessee'   that will only be available for orders, received and paid for, before October 8, 2023. For more information on how to (pre)order, contact >>> Dick Dekker by mail. 

Christmas At Graceland

Elvis' granddaughter Riley Keough has announced an inside Graceland first for fans this Christmas. Together with NBC, Graceland announced the new Christmas TV special 'Christmas At Graceland' which premieres in November. Riley is the executive producer of the upcoming special. 

Publicity stated: NBC is bringing together the legacy of Elvis Presley and the spirit of the holiday season in a new live music special, “Christmas at Graceland.”

The special is set to air Wednesday, November 29 at 10 p.m. ET/PT and simulcast on Peacock. Viewers will be brought into the historic Graceland estate, Elvis’ treasured home that has been visited by millions of his fans around the world. “Christmas at Graceland” is the first live musical televised holiday special of its kind at the estate.

'Christmas at Graceland' will feature music’s biggest stars celebrating the King of Rock ‘n’ Roll, his music and his favorite time of year, in an unprecedented holiday special live from his iconic home, Graceland. Participating performers will be announced at a later date.

My family and I are elated to open the doors to Graceland in this first-of-its-kind special,” said executive producer Riley Keough. “With intimate musical performances drawing inspiration from my grandfather Elvis’s cherished Christmases in Memphis, viewers will be invited to experience firsthand the magic that is Christmas at Graceland.” 

To celebrate the holidays at Graceland, and be a part of the King’s legacy, is both an honor and absolute dream come true,” said Jen Neal, Executive Vice President, Live Events and Specials, NBCUniversal Media Group. “We thank Riley and her family for allowing all of us to visit her grandfather’s iconic home and share an intimate musical experience that Elvis would’ve truly loved.”

'Christmas at Graceland' will air immediately following NBC’s highly rated annual presentation of 'Christmas in Rockefeller Center' on November 29 (8-10 p.m. ET/PT) for an evening of unforgettable holiday programming.


The U.K. based Yours Retro magazine published an Elvis Presley special in their 'Women's Special Series'. 

SynopsisElvis fans will not want to miss the latest Retro Collectors’ edition dedicated to The King of Rock ’n’ Roll. This A to Z guide celebrates Elvis’ life and work, revisiting his humble childhood and exploring the key relationships that helped shape him into the icon who continues to captivate us all.

Elvis 82

The Belgian ElvisMatters fanclub published volume 82 of their self-titled magazine (September 2023). 

For Gold members the club added a CD titled 'Elvis 82' featuring music that is linked to the content of the magazine by Elvis Presley and other performers. 

Tracks: Blue Suede Shoes (Salsa version by Maffio) / Lead Me, Guide Me (by Bouke and Glen D. Hardin) / For The Good Times (live) / Please Don't Stop Loving Me / Are You Lonesome Tonight? (live, June 21, 1977) / Softly As I Leave You (live, talking version September 3, 1973) / Softly As I Leave You (rehearsal, August 1974) / Softly As I Leave You (live December 13, 1975) / Softly As I Leave You (by Matt Monro) / Softly As I Leave You (by Andy Williams) / Softly As I Leave You (by Frank Sinatra) / Piano (1960) (by Mina).

My Precious Memories 

The Danish Memphis Mansion Publishing announced the re-release of Judy Palmer Bendewald’s 2009 book 'My Precious Memories of Elvis'. 

This 200-page paperback edition has completely been redesigned and almost doubled in size compared to the original book with the addition of new material and never before seen pictures from Judy’s collection.

Judy Palmer posted on Facebook: Very proud and excited to announce the reprinting of my book, 'My Treasured Memories of Elvis' by Henrik Knudsen, owner of the Memphis Mansion in Denmark.   

It has my original book in full, plus has been newly redesigned. It's 220 pages, 8 1/2 x 11, soft cover. Soren, the graphic artist who put it together, used a photography theme because of my photos of Elvis, thus, the dark room cover of the photos being developed. 

My book has been and are my stories being an Elvis fan since 1956 through  the current time and the photos I took of him 1965-1976. It contains my 200 photos of Elvis and some given permission to add.  

It will be out in October in an English and a Danish Henrik version I hope everyone will enjoy it.

(Source: Pascal Matteo / Elvis On CD / Henrik Knudsen / Judy Palemer / Graceland)